17 pointsby dt3ft3 hours ago3 comments
  • dt3ft3 hours ago
    Older people (seen it at 65+) will just click the nag without knowing what the button does and end up beaming up all photos to google cloud with no ability to disable the nag (it keeps showing up after a while) even when dismissed. If you are concerned about your data privacy, you may want to check on what photos of say your kids your parents are beaming up to google without their or your knowledge.
    • nom19 minutes ago
      It is worse than that. It fills up your accounts cloud storage, where your Google docs, sheets, drive files etc are stored.

      Once full you are caught in their trap: pay a monthly fee to the mafia or delete your data!

      This flow is intentional and they have set up everything to bring you there. The Photo-Backup popup (and arguably the whole photo feature) helps to shovel users more quickly to the end of the monetization funnel.

  • novia2 hours ago
    The answer in the thread (which is quite hard to find) is to use the Google Photos app without an account.

    The app has some very nice features that are locked behind account access though.

  • rootsudoan hour ago
    I wonder why google locked it..